Specialty Competition 2025 Music of Eastern Europe

Date: February 22, 2025 **Time:** 1:00-5:00pm

Location: St. Columba's Episcopal Church, 4201 Albemarle St, NW, Washington,

DC 20016

Application fee: \$25 per student **Postmark deadline:** January 11, 2025

Awards: 1st, 2nd and 3rd places will be awarded. Honorable Mentions will be given at

the discretion of the judges. Winners will receive ribbons. All students will

receive critiques and certificates.

ALL WMTA RULES APPLY.

All participants must comply with U.S. copyright law. For use of copied or downloaded materials, please refer to the WMTA General Rules. https://wmta-dc.org/pdfs/rules.pdf

Eligibility: Students through the 12th grade.

Repertoire requirements:

- The 2025 Specialty Competition will feature music by composers of Eastern European origin from all time periods
- There is no required piece. Students may play one single solo piece, several solo pieces, or piano duet pieces. Solo pieces must be memorized.
- For teachers who wish to submit students into both the Specialty Competition and the Modern Piano Music Celebration using the same repertoire for both events, the enclosed roster of Modern Eastern European Composers may be helpful.

Countries of origin include: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Ukraine. Russia is not included.

Performers must provide the judges with the music scores with numbered measures.

Time limits

- Section 1 (age 8 and under), 5-minute limit.
- Section 2 (ages 9-10), 5-minute limit.
- Section 3 (ages 11-12), 6-minute limit.
- Section 4 (ages 13-14), 7-minute limit.
- Section 5 (ages 15-16), 8-minute limit.
- Section 6 (ages 17-18), 9-minute limit.
- Section 7 (piano duets, all ages), 7-minute limit.

Recital Format: Scheduled by section. Contestants are required to arrive at least 10 minutes before their recital group is scheduled to begin and must stay for the entire recital.

Requirements for Teachers: Teachers of participating students are expected to help on the day of the competition.

Co-Chair: Mary Kading, mlkpno@hotmail.com

Co-Chair: Dmitri Nazarenko, dmitripianostudio@gmail.com

APPLICATION FORMS

Click here to access the electronic application form.

Modern Eastern European Composers (b. 1905 or later) of Piano Music

(This list does not include Russia.)

For teachers who wish to submit students into both the Specialty Competition and the Modern Piano Music Celebration using the same repertoire for both events, this roster of Modern Eastern European Composers may be helpful.

Albania

Simon Gjoni (1925 – 1991) Tonin Harapi (1925 – 1991) Thomas Simaku (1958 -) Cesk Zedeja (1927 – 1997)

Armenia

Eduard Bagdasaryan (1922 – 1987) Edvard Mirzoyan (1021 – 2012) Mikhael Tariverdiev (1931 – 1996)

Azerbaijan

Fikret Amirov (1922 – 1984) Gara Garayev (1918 – 1982) Tofig Guliyev (1917 – 2000) Elza Ibrahimova (1938- 2012)

Belarus

Heinrich Wagner ((1922 – 2000) Tatsiana Zelianko (1980 -)

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Sinan Alimanovic (1954 -) Vuk Kulenovic (1946 – 2017) Mladen Milicevic (1958 -) Dino Residbegovic (1975 -) Aliser Sijaric (1969 -)

Bulgaria

Gheorghi Arnaoudov (1957 -) Marin Goleminov (1908 – 2000) Michail Goleminov (1956 -) Boyan Vodenitcharov (1960 -)

Croatia

Bruno Bjelinski (1909 – 1992) Arsen Dedic (1938 – 2015)

Croatia (continued)

Milko Kelemen (1924 – 2018) Ivana Lang (1912 – 1982) Boris Papandopulo (1914 – 1986)

Czech Republic

Petr Eben (1929 – 2007) Leos Faltus (1937 – 2024) Vladimir Hirsch (1954 -) Vitezslava Kapralova (1915 – 1940) Geraldine Mucha (1917 – 2012) Antonin Tucapsky (1928 – 2014)

Estonia

Eduard Oja (1905 – 1950) Arvo Part (1935 -) Urmas Sisask (1960 – 2022) Eduard Tubin (1905 – 1982) Helena Tulve (1972 -) Part Uusberg (1986 -)

Georgia

Vazha (Vaja) Azarashvili (1936 – 2024) Giya Kancheli (1933 – 2019) Otar Taktakishvili (1924 – 1989)

Hungary

Gyorgy Ligeti (1923 – 2006) Gyorgy Kurtag (1947 – 2019) Miklos Rozsa (1907 – 1995) Peter Eotvos (1944 – 2024) Ferenc Farkas (1905 – 2000) Zoltan Jeney (1943 – 2019) Laszlo Melis (1953 – 2018) Joseph Kosma (1905 – 1969)

Latvia

Talivaldis Kenins (1919 – 2008) Georgs Pelecis (1947 -)

Lithuania

Felikas Bajoras (1934 -) Onute Narbutaite (1956 -)

Moldova

Eugen Doga (1937 -) Max Fishman (1915 – 1985)

Montenegro

Dragoljub Duricic (1953 – 2021) Rexho Mulliqi (1923 – 1982)

North Macedonia

Jana Andreevska (1967 -) Stojan Stojkov (1941 -) Tomislav Zografski (1934 – 2000)

Poland

Grazyna Bacewicz (1909 – 1969) Tadeusz Baird (1928 – 1981) Joanna Bruzdowicz (1943 -) Kasia Glowicka (1977 -) Henryk Gorecki (1933 – 2010) Jan A. P. Kaczmarek (1953 -) Zbigniew Karkowski (1958 – 2013) Wojciech Kilar (1932 – 2013) Stefan Kisielewski (1911 – 1991) Krzysztof Komeda (1931 – 1969) Zygmunt Konieczny (1937 -) Zygmunt Krauze (1938 -) Hanna Kulenty (1961 -) Pawel Lukaszewski (1968 -) Witold Lutoslawski (1913 – 1994) Roman Maciejewski (1910 – 1998) Krzysztof Meyer (1943 -)

Krystyna Moszumanska-Nazar (1924 – 2009)

Pawel Mykietyn (1971 -)

Poland (continued)

Edward Olearczyk (1915 – 1994)
Roman Palester (1907 – 1989)
Andrzej Panufnik (1914 – 1991)
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933 – 2020)
Zbigniew Preisner (1955 -)
Marta Ptaszynska (1943 -)
Witold Rudzinski (1913 – 2004)
Marian Sawa (1937 – 2005)
Boguslaw Schaeffer (1929 – 2019)
Kazimierz Serocki (1922 – 1981)
Marek Stachowski (1936 – 2004)
Pawel Szymanski (1954 -)
Mieczyslaw Weinberg (1919 – 1996)
Maciej Zielinski (1971 -)

Romania

Vladimir Cosma (1940 -)
Gyorgy Kurtag (1926 -) (Born in Lugos,
Romania; but is considered Hungarian)
Gyorgy Ligeti (1923 -)
Dinu Lipatti (1917 -)
Teo Milea (1982 -)
Anatol Vieru (1926 – 1998)
Iannis Xenakis (1922 – 2001)

Serbia

Svetozar Kavacevic (1950 -) Ljubica Marica (1909 – 2003) Milan Ristic (1908 – 1982) Dusan Trbojevic (1925 -)

Slovakia

Ivan Buffa (1979 -)
Jan Cikter (1911 – 1989)
Vladimir Godar (1956 -)
Alexander Moyzes (1906 – 1984)

Slovenia

Nana Forte (1981 -) Marjan Kozina (1907 – 1966) Marijan Lipovsek (1910 - 1995)

Ukraine

Leonid Hrabovsky (1935 -)
Ivan Karabits (1945 – 2002)
Igor Markevitch (1912 - 1983)
Alexander Peskanov (unknown birthdate, but still living)
Alexander Shchetinsky (1960 -)
Yuri Shchurovsky (1927 – 1996)
Myroslav Skoryk (1938 – 2020)